

Department Details

Department name:	International Committee
Туре:	Board or Commission
Meeting time:	5:30 PM
Meeting location:	
Primary contact:	
Description:	The International Committee exists as an umbrella committee to advise the Mayor and City Council and to act as a resource on international matters, to advise and to recommend future Sister City relationships, and to coordinate activities among the La Crosse Sister City Committees. The Committee is responsible for keeping alive our locally rich and diverse cultural heritage, for raising awareness of international connections available in the La Crosse area, and for fostering positive relations with citizens in other countries. The Sister/Partner/Twinned Cities include Republic of Cameroon, Kumbo, West Africa; Epinal, France; Dubna, Russia; Luoyang, China; Friedberg, Germany; Forde, Norway; and Bantry, Ireland. Committee members shall be appointed by the Mayor for a term of three years and shall consist of no more than 14 members: One (1) Council Member and thirteen (13) members to include representatives from the sister city committees, and the remainder a balanced representation from La Crosse educational and business institutions and area citizens with an interest in global connections. Appointment to the committee shall be upon recommendation of the Committee and approval of the Common Council; residency requirements notwithstanding.

Name		Title	Start Date	End Date
VACANCY Appointed By:	Mayor	Sister City Rep.	9/3/2022	2/8/2024 *
Alyson Glenz Appointed By: M	Mayor	School District Representative	12/9/2021	12/9/2024
Art Marson Appointed By: M	Mayor	Non-Citizen	11/10/2016	1/11/2027
Chris Woodard Appointed By: M	Mayor	Council Member	5/13/2021	4/15/2025
Dana Young Appointed By: M	Mayor	Sister City Rep.	3/9/2023	3/9/2026
Irene Barmore Appointed By: M	Mayor	Sister City Rep.	2/13/2014	10/13/2025
Jerry Berns Appointed By: M	Mayor	Sister City Rep.	7/14/2022	7/14/2025
Karena Norton Appointed By: M	Mayor	Sister City Rep.	2/8/2024	2/8/2027

Karolyn Bald Appointed By: Mayor	UW-L Rep.	9/10/2020	1/11/2027
Lynn West Appointed By: Mayor	Sister City Rep.	12/9/2021	12/9/2024
Melissa Giefer Appointed By: Mayor	Viterbo Rep.	8/8/2019	9/12/2024
Michael De Yoe Appointed By: Mayor	Sister City Rep.	11/13/2014	1/11/2027
Mindy Wiesjahn Appointed By: Mayor	Sister City Rep.	7/14/2022	7/14/2025
Thomas Monson Appointed By: Mayor	Sister City Rep.	8/14/2023	8/10/2026

^{*} indicates extended term